President’s Awards for Scientific Publication 2016


Eighteen members of the academic staff of the Faculty of Medicine, University of Kelaniya received President’s Awards for Scientific Publication in the year 2016, at a ceremony held on 19th November 2018, graced by His Excellency Maithripala Sirisena, the President of Sri Lanka, and Hon Mohan Lal Grero, State Minister of Science, Technology & Research. These awards were considered the nation’s most prestigious awards for scientists. The National Research Council, the Ministry of Science, Technology & Research and the Presidential Secretariat jointly organized the awards ceremony.

With a total of 18 award winners, this year too, our Faculty has remained among those Faculties with the highest number of recipients.


List of award winners

Name Department Designation
Vidyajyothi Prof. H.J. de Silva Medicine Cadre Chair and Senior Professor
Prof. M. A. Niriella Medicine Professor in Gastroenterology
Dr. Shaluka F. Jayamanna Medicine Senior Lecturer (Grade II)
Prof. Madawa Chandratilake Medical Education Professor in Medical Education
Prof. E. G. D. S. Rajindrajith Paediatrics Cadre Chair and Professor
Dr. D. S. G. Mettananda Paediatrics Senior Lecturer (Grade II)
Prof. Nilanthi De Silva Parasitology Cadre Chair and Senior Professor
Prof. N. K. Gunawardena Parasitology Senior Professor
Prof. H. Asita de Silva Pharmacology Senior Professor of Pharmacology
Prof. Deepthi C. de Silva Physiology Professor in Medical Genetics
Prof. Niranga Devanarayana Physiology Cadre Chair and Professor
Prof. A. R. Wickremasinghe Public Health Cadre Chair and Professor
Prof. A. Pathmeswaran Public Health Senior Professor
Dr. K. T. A. A. Kasturirathna Public Health Senior Lecturer (Grade II)
Prof. Kemal Deen Surgery Retired, Cadre Chair and Senior Professor
Dr. Dileepa Ediriweera Computer Centre Lecturer
Wijayawickrama, B.A Medicine Demonstrator
Udara, W.S.A.A.T Medicine Demonstrator